The Problem With Online Dating Websites?

online-datingOnline dating websites are now so popular that I can bet that everybody can name at least one online dating website that they either know, or use. With 90 million single people between the age of 19 and 45, no wonder why online dating websites are booming everyday. Although the need is there, what should people expect from using a website to find that special someone? Well, so many things to expect.

The biggest problem with online dating comes not from the websites, but mostly from the users. Many people believe that by joining an online dating website, things will happen just by magic. It’s not easy because you don’t meet people you are interested in in matters of minutes or days. It takes some time to meet someone who you are interested in and who you think might be interested in asking you out.

The one thing that every person joining an online dating site must learn is PATIENCE. You have to be patient about meeting people and don’t be frustrated if you don’t see anyone who interests you within a week or so of opening your account.

The other problem with online dating is that we never know who we will meet online– good and honest people, criminals, psycho, etc.

Despite the need and demand for dating and the increasing number of single people, online dating isn’t always the best option. Most people who try online dating end up giving up on their search as soon as they feel frustrated  for not meeting people they wanted to. According to Forbes magazine, 99 out of 100 online dating sites  fail, and because some have an unsavory reputation, you won’t find many Angel or VC investors who are interested. Plan to focus on that other popular tier of investors – founders, family, friends, and fools.

Maybe we should come up with a new way to meet people. If the traditional ways aren’t working for most of us, and if online dating is as unsuccessful as traditional place (bars, library etc.), then we need to come up with a new system of matching people , or at least a new way to meet people. Whether we like it or not, the need and the demand are there, and they need to be addressed.

18 thoughts on “The Problem With Online Dating Websites?

  1. Pingback: How are you really dating online? | just2surelynot

    • Thank you so much for your support 🙂 it means a lot to me. I am so sorry I haven’t seen writing lately, but I will be back soon . Thanks again for the support

  2. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your
    blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and
    visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Great work!

    • Thanks a lot. I didn’t hire anyone to design it, I just chose one of the free templates they have on WordPress. However, I am thinking about redesigning the layout since I want to add more sections to it

  3. I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with
    the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s
    rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays.

    • This really means a lot to me. Thank you so much for reading and enjoying my posts. As a non-native speaker of English, I am thrilled to hear you compliment my writing skills as I learned English only three years ago. Thanks again.
      And for the layouts, WordPress has so many free templates to choose from and I used one of those

    • Thanks a lot for reading my posts. It means a great deal to me. As far as dating online goes, It has its pros and its cons. People just need to understand what they are getting themselves into when they open an account on a dating website. They also have to remember that online dating is no different from the other forms of dating just because there is no magic stick as to when and how you meet the right one. It takes patience and sometimes, you have to eliminate the creeps, the jerks and those who are there just to waste your time

  4. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Great work!

  5. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and
    now each time a comment is added I get several e-mails with the
    same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Thanks a lot!

  6. Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all of us you really understand what you’re speaking approximately!
    Bookmarked. Kindly additionally consult with my web site =).
    We may have a link exchange arrangement among us

  7. Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing
    through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I found it
    and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

Leave a Reply

